Monday, 16 December 2013

Felsham a hundred and fifty years ago

Trade directories were published throughout the UK from the 1840s onward listing businesses and trades-people for every city, town and village in the country.  Details about local gentry, landowners, charities and postal facilities were also included.  These directories were, in effect, Victorian versions of today’s Yellow Pages.  An example for Felsham from a hundred and fifty years ago - Harrod’s Directory of Suffolk 1864 - is shown below.
FELSHAM is a parish and village in Thedwastry hundred, West Suffolk, about 7 miles west of Stowmarket, and 8 south-east  from Bury St Edmunds, containing 1,605 acres of land.  Fisk Harrison, Esq., is lord of the manor.  The living is a rectory, and has now a yearly rent charge of £490, in lieu of tithes, awarded in 1841.  The Rev. Thomas Anderson, M.A., is patron and incumbent.  The church is dedicated to St. Peter.  In the interior are tablets to the Turner and Dalton families, a tower with clock, and 6 bells.  There are charities, the proceeds of which are distributed by the rector and churchwardens to the poor of the parish.  There is a National school.  A fair of lambs, etc., is held here on the 16th of August.  The population in 1861 was 394.

POSTAL REGULATIONS. – James Raafe, receiver.  Letters arrive from Woolpit at 9.30 a.m.; dispatched at 5 p.m.; post town, Bury.

CARRIER TO BURY – George Boggis, Wednesday and Saturday.  

Anderson Rev. Thomas, M.A.

COMMERCIAL

Banley James, farmer

Bigsby Jeremiah, baker

Boggis, James wheelwright

Brewer Benjamin, bricklayer

Brewer Henry, builder & wheelwright

Brewer Isaac, carpenter & wheelwright

Chipperfield Alfred, grocer & draper

Deadman James, farmer & landowner, Grange farm

Eaves Henry, shoemaker

Frost James, schoolmaster

Golding William, farmer, Stone farm

Gosling William, farmer

Green John, shoemaker

Howe Frederick, blacksmith

Hubbard Thomas, farmer, Felsham hall

King Thomas, farmer

Kinsey Edward, farmer

Kinsey Jacob, Six Bells inn

Last James, farmer

Moore William, farmer

Oxer John Jarman, shopkeeper

Reynolds Edward, farrier

Scott James, farmer, Brook farm

Smith Thomas, farmer

Watkinson William, farmer

The entry for Felsham begins with a brief description of the parish and includes topographical, historical and institutional information, followed by information about postal and carrier facilities, and then a longer list of all the farmers, tradesmen and craftsmen to be found in the village.  The directory provided information for all those in commerce who needed to send goods and circulars out to persons of particular occupation and standing.  For example, an ironmonger in Bury might need to know how to get, say, half a dozen new oil lamps to one of the Felsham shopkeepers.  For this purpose he would use the carrier’s cart belonging to Mr Boggis, and the directory told him which days this ran, in Felsham’s case, Wednesdays and Saturdays.  On sending out his bills, the ironmonger could use the directory to check the correct postal address, etc.  Conversely, anybody in the country could search the directory, just as we browse the Yellow Pages, to find ‘the right man for the job’.  For example, people needing building work done would note that Felsham had Benjamin and Henry Brewer with the experience to complete the job.

As a resource for the local historian trade directories provide valuable information about the economically “significant” people in the village who provided various services, employment, schooling and charity to the majority.  The twenty eight people listed constitute less than eight per cent of the total population of Felsham but they would have formed a “local establishment” or social elite that everyone knew.  The predominance of farmers and craftsmen such as wheelwrights emphasises the fact the village revolved around agriculture in a way that is unfamiliar today when only a small number of people are employed on the land.

How accurate were the directories?  Cross-referencing with other historical sources such as Census Returns indicates that they are generally accurate, but in the example given here for 1864, a number of spelling errors could create confusion.  For example, “Banley, James, farmer” must refer to Mr Bauley, farmer.  Similarly but less easily explained, “Deadman, James, farmer & landowner”, must refer to Mr Debenham who was living at Grange Farm at this time. 

 
Finally, a little snippet of local history is provided by the description of the church tower with it 6 bells and clock.  Information about the Felsham church clock is scarce but a pre-1900 photograph clearly shows a clock roundel just below the belfry’s louvered window opening.  Strangely, the clock face appears “blind” – there is no sign of numbers or hands.  Perhaps the clock had ceased functioning by the time the photograph was taken.  However, we do know that the clock was functioning fully in 1815 because church accounts refer to money being paid for "winding up the church clock."

Bibliography: Mills, D.R., Rural Community History from Trade Directories, (Local Population Studies, 2001)
 



Additional research:


1.  How many farmers were tenant farmers?


The Directory of 1864 mentions that James Deadman (Debenham) of Grange farm was a “farmer and landowner”.  None of the other farmers listed are given a similar label which suggests that Mr Debenham was the only farmer who was an owner-occupier.  A Sale Notice for 1858 in the Bury & Norwich Post indicates that James Debenham probably bought the farm in this year.  With a farm of 218 acres this farmer was a substantial land owner in Felsham. 

The Census Returns for 1861 shows his household thus:



James

Debenham

Head

60

Farmer of 218 acres employing 8 labourers and 2 Boys

Ixworth Thorpe

Suffolk

Sophia

Debenham

Wife

59

Farmer's wife

Glemham

Suffolk

George

Debenham

Son

26

Farmer's son

Hilborough

Norfolk

Kate

Debenham

Daughter-in-law

24

 

Eastmore

Norfolk

Alice Kate

Debenham

Granddaughter

5

 

Heacham

Norfolk

Arthur James

Debenham

Grandson

1

 

Ventnor

Isle of Wight

Mary Ann

Thitmore

Servant

20

Dairymaid

Ellingham

Norfolk

Caroline

Cuthbert

Servant

22

House Servant

Gedding

Suffolk

Sophia

Gladwell

Servant

16

Nursemaid

Felsham

Suffolk

“In the late 19th century only about a seventh of the land was in the hands of owner-occupiers…  It rarely paid farmers to put spare resources into buying land when the money could be used more profitably in extending the scale of their operations or buying new equipment.  The purchase of one’s farm represented a saving in rent of only three or four per cent of the capital required, while farming.. could be reckoned to produce a good 10 per cent or more.  The consequence was that most farmers were content to be tenants, seeing their capital produce a good return, and feeling perfectly secure under a good landlord.”

GE Mingay: Rural life in Victorian England, (Allan Sutton Publishing, 1990) p50

It is probable that all the other farmers were tenants paying an annual rent for their farm.  For example, Thomas Hubbard, the farmer at Felsham Hall was paying a rental of £237 16s 6d in 1856 for his 151 acre farm, two-thirds of which was down to arable.  The farm was sold in 1860 while Mr Hubbard was the sitting tenant with eight years of his twelve year lease still to run.
 
The Census Returns for 1861 shows his household thus:
 
Thomas
Hubbard
Head
33
Farmer of 151 acres employing 4 labourers and 1 Boy
Finningham
Suffolk
Lavinia
Hubbard
Wife
30
Farmers wife
Ixworth
Suffolk
John C
Hubbard
Son
8
Scholar at home
Elmswell
Suffolk
Laura
Hubbard
Daughter
6
Scholar at home
Tostock
Suffolk
Thomas
Hubbard
Son
4
Scholar at home
Felsham
Suffolk
Jane
Hubbard
Daughter
2
 
Felsham
Suffolk
William
Hubbard
Son
1
 
Felsham
Suffolk
Louisa
Chilvers
Teacher
21
 
Tottington
Norfolk
Eunice
Death
Servant
26
Dairy Maid
Hitcham
Suffolk
Emily Jane
Garrod
Servant
12
Servant
Felsham
Suffolk
 
He was not listed in the Census Returns for 1871 so presumably he had left the village on the termination of his lease to farm elsewhere.

Despite the fact that Thomas Hubbard was a tenant farmer he was still a man of some wealth and local standing.  His children did not attend the local National School but were educated at home by a governess as shown in the Census Return above.
Further research: the security of tenant farmers

2.  How big were the Felsham farms?
It would appear that only the four largest farms are mentioned by name in the Harrod’s Directory for 1864: Grange Farm, Stone Farm, Felsham Hall Farm and Brook Hall Farm.  These are all farms of over 150 acres in size.  The Census Returns for 1861 and 1871 reveal the names and sizes of the smaller farms:


Deadman James, farmer & landowner, Grange farm

Debenham.  Farmer of 218 acres employing 8 labourers and 2 Boys

Golding William, farmer, Stone farm [Slough Farm]

Farmer of 164 acres employing 7 Labourers and 4 Boys

 

Gosling William, farmer

Valley Farm.  Farmer of 57 acres employing 2 Labourers and 2 Boys

Hubbard Thomas, farmer, Felsham hall

Farmer of 151 acres employing 4 labourers and 1 Boy

 

King Thomas, farmer

James King? Near Michery House [The Links] and the Grange?

Kinsey Edward, farmer

1861 The Green, Edmund Kinsey aged 43, Farmer of 140 acres employing 5 Labourers and 2 Boys? 1871 Edward Kinsey aged 52,  farmer of Mausoleum House. [Same person? – both born in Stowupland.)

Last James, farmer

Tailor and shoemaker of 17 acres employing 1 labourer and boy.  In 1871 described as ‘Farmer and Master Tailor’.

Moore William, farmer

Rookery Farm [Moore’s Farm] Farmer of 100 acres employing 3 Labourers and 2 Boys.  Also publican at Six Bells in 1871

Scott James, farmer, Brook farm

Farmer of 170 acres employing 6 Labourers and 3 Boys

Smith Thomas, farmer

Farmer of 34 acres employing 1 Labourer and 1 Boy (Hill Farm?)

Watkinson William, farmer

Daver’s Farm [Capel Farm]. Farmer of 124 acres employing 4 Labourers and 2 Boys

It is noteworthy that the smaller farmers sometimes combined their farming with other occupations.  William Moore with a farm of 100 acres was also the publican at the Six Bells Inn.  While, James Last managed to combine working his small-holding of 17 acres with his professions of shoemaker and tailor.

Further research: Felsham villagers with two or more occupations?

Wednesday, 13 November 2013

"Signposts to local history"

Welcome to the first edition of ‘Signposts to local history’ - the history magazine for Felsham and the surrounding villages.  It is devoted to topics which will be of interest to everyone fascinated by our rich local history.  All the articles are introductory signposts to further exploration.  


Cover SIGNPOSTS to local history
 
This first edition is on sale in the FELSHAM PO STORES
 Price £3.

Articles include:

  • Photography: Waggon & horses
  • Genealogy: John Bird ~ transported for seven years
  • Retail therapy: Shopping in Felsham before 1900
  • Lords of the manor: The Risbys of Felsham
  • Facing the wind: The Felsham & Gedding Windmills
  • God's acres: Felsham and Gedding Churchyards

Click here for more information.  Articles for future editions of "Signposts..." will be gratefully received.

Wednesday, 30 October 2013

The Felsham Shop 1900 to 1940


At the beginning of the 20th century the Felsham shop was situated at the northern end of Upper Green in a house that can still be seen today. The postcard photograph shows that it had a glass-fronted extension going the whole length of the house and slightly to the side.  The photo is undated but was probably taken around 1930.

The name over the door is W H Ince.  Walter Herbert Ince became a shopkeeper in Felsham some time between 1904 and 1908 probably soon after he married in 1905.  He bought the shop from George Godbold. Mr Ince was still trading in 1929 and the shop stayed in the hands of his family at least until the outbreak of the World War II. 

The Census for 1911 throws some light on Walter Ince’s household.  He himself is described as a “Grocer and Draper and Sub Postmaster” of 41 years of age.  He was married and his wife was called Rose and she was 29 years of age.  He had two daughters and one son at this time aged 4, 2 and 1 month. 

His household included a General Domestic Servant (Lily Dyer, aged 17 from Shimpling), a Drapers Assistant (Susie Stiff, aged 25 from Rattlesden), and a Grocer’s Assistant (Allan Sturgeon, aged 15 from Hartest).  In addition to these shop assistants, Walter Ince employed a Grocer’s Porter called Rowland Squirrel, a 27 year old single man who lived with his parents at Castle Cottage, and a Post Office Clerk called Violet Hubbard, aged 21, who was daughter to James Hubbard, the Felsham blacksmith who had his forge immediately opposite Walter Ince’s shop.

Thus, the Felsham shop provided employment for at least six people and must have been a fairly busy and successful establishment.  In 1908, Kelly’ Directory describes the shopkeeper as “sub postmaster, grocer, draper, boot & shoe dealer, clothier, & agent for Huntley and Palmer’s biscuits.”  It would appear that the Felsham shop offered the villagers everything under the sun.  It could be aptly described as a “department store in miniature.”

The interior of the shop was probably divided in two with a grocery counter on one side and a drapery counter piled high with different fabrics on the other.  It is interesting to note that Mr Ince stocked factory made footwear which must have irked the elderly Mr William Last who was Felsham’s last boot and shoe maker and who also lived and worked on Upper Green.  The shop window probably displayed shoes and boots alongside fabrics, hats and clothes.

 The Post Office counter was an important adjunct to the shop’s business.  Kelly’s directory for 1916 tells us that “letters arrive from Bury St

Edmunds at 7.50 a.m. and 2.25 p.m.; dispatched weekdays at 10 a.m. & 5.40 p.m.; Sundays at 11 a.m.  

Sorting and delivery would need to be organised perhaps along the lines described in “Lark Rise to Candleford”.
 
One cold winter morning, when snow was on the ground and the ponds were iced over, Laura, in mittens and a scarf, was sorting the early morning mail and wishing that Zillah would hurry with the cup of tea she usually brought her at that time. The hanging oil lamp above her head had scarcely had time to thaw the atmosphere, and the one uniformed postman at a side bench, sorting his letters for delivery, stopped to thump his chest with his arms and exclaim that he’d be jiggered, but it was a fact that on such mornings as this there was bound to be a letter for every house, even for those which did not have one once in a blue moon. ‘Does it on purpose, I s’pose,’ he grumbled.

 As the 20th century progressed, Violet Hubbard, the Felsham Post Office Clerk would need to get used to new tasks such as the payment of old age pensions and similar official business.  Income from the Post Office contract was rising but just as valuable was the fact that people coming in for a few stamps, to send a telegram, or to collect a pension were likely to be tempted to make other purchases while they happened to be in the shop.

 What sort of jobs were carried out by Rowland Squirrel, the grocer’s poerter?  Many local villages Cockfield and Thorpe Morieux had coal dealers or merchants.  Perhaps, Mr Ince’s shop dealt in coal too and perhaps one of the porter’s jobs was to deliver it.  He certainly would have been expected to move all the heavy items in the shop and he may have had additional responsibilities to do with carting items from the wholesalers back to Felsham. 

 At the beginning of the 20th century the village shops began to sell packaged goods which eliminated much of the work that had traditionally been part of the grocer’s life, such as cutting up, weighing and bagging.  Some things such as rice and dried fruit were still sold loose.  Sugar was still weighed out into the blue bags, coffee had to be ground, and bacon sliced.  Even here though, there were changes.  Bacon-slicing machines, installed by many village shops in the 1920s and 1930s, made a considerable difference to the counter assistant’s work. 

Mr Ince’s shop sold most things but local people would still need to go to market in Bury or Stowmarket for much of their fresh fruit and vegetables.  Even so, the shop probably sold items that stored easily such as potatoes and onions.

Where did villagers get their milk from before 1940?  Was it supplied by a local farmer or did the shop keep some for sale?  It is unlikely that the shop was able to refrigerate milk. 

The shop may have sold bread even though there was a baker in the village.  Kelly’s Directory for 1916 mentions a baker called Frederick Gowers.  It is possible that the shop sold some liquor but Felsham had its beer shop a few doors  down towards the Cockfield Road at the Live and Let Live, and there was, of course, the Six Bells Public House. 

Sunday, 15 September 2013

Felsham in 1674 during the reign of Charles II

The Suffolk Hearth tax returns provides us with a list of some of the people who lived in Felsham in 1674.

"National taxation records are of particular value to historians, providing rare snapshots of both the extent and distribution of wealth and population across an entire country. The Hearth Tax of the 1660s and 1670s provides one such detailed picture of the socio-economic and demographic structure of England and Wales. In addition, the information on hearths sheds invaluable light on vernacular architecture and on developments in building during the later seventeenth century."
http://www.roehampton.ac.uk/Research-Centres/Centre-for-Hearth-Tax-Research/

The Hearth Tax was introduced in England and Wales by the government of Charles II in 1662 at a time of serious fiscal emergency. The original Act of Parliament was revised in 1663 and 1664 and collection continued until the tax was finally repealed by William and Mary in 1689.

Under the terms of the grant, each liable householder was to pay one shilling for each hearth within their property for each collection of the tax. The tax was payable by people whose house was worth more than 20s a year and who contributed to local church and poor rates. Large numbers of people were exempt from paying the tax. Those individuals who were not liable to pay for reasons of poverty were required to obtain a certificate of exemption from the parish clergyman, churchwardens and overseers of the poor, countersigned by two Justices of the Peace. As a result, the hearth tax assessments cannot be considered to provide anything approaching a comprehensive census of the population.

Payments were due twice annually, at Michaelmas (29 September) and Lady Day (25 March), starting at Michaelmas 1662. However, the administration of the tax was extremely complex and assessment and collection methods changed radically over time. As a result, the majority of the surviving documents relate to the periods when the tax was administered directly by royal officials, who returned their records to the Exchequer, namely the periods 1662-1666 and 1669-1674.

Outside these periods, the collection of the tax was ‘farmed out’ to private tax collectors, who paid a fixed sum to the government in return for the privilege of collecting the tax. These farmers were not required to send their assessments into the Exchequer, although a few returns from these periods do survive. (Source: M, Durrant, History of Badley).
FELSHAM HEARTH TAX RETURNS 1674


John Fryar

4

John Motham

4

William Deekes

5

John Groom/Widow Spurgeon

3

John Spurgeon

6

William Scare

4

Mr [Thomas ] Brundish [the Rector 1646-1680]

4

Anthony Hayward

3

James Hayward

4

Thomas Warren

4

Mr Nunn [Also owned a house in Gedding with 4 hearths]

5

Robert South

7

Mr Robert Goodrich

5

Dan. Mount/Richard Kemball

3

John Banham

5

John Hayward

6

John Sterne

5

Charles Sterne

5

George Cockseage

4

Widow Worth/ George Partridge

3

William Grimwood/ Thomas Todd

3

Hezekiah Draper

3

Jos Ranson

3

John Ely

4



Total hearths

99

CERTIFIED for.


Robert Groome/Anthony Groome/John Groome

3

Widow Alexander/Edward Hawkins

3

Augustus Heylder/James Mayhew

2

John Hamont sen. & jun.

2

John Grimwood/William Lockwood

2

Towne houses

3

Exemptions

15
With the number of hearths averaging about 4, the people of Felsham were mostly living in farmhouses and cottages.  There is no large house listed.  The Lord of the Manor in 1674 was John Risby Esq. who lived in Thorpe Morieux in a house with 11 hearths.

To help put these village statistics in some sort of perspective it is worth noting that the house with the largest number of hearths in Suffolk was Hengrave Hall with 55, while more locally we have Rushbrook Hall with 33.

Mr Robert Goodrich is, perhaps, the most interesting person among the list of Felsham  tax payers.  Certainly, we know more about him than some of the others.  To begin with he is buried in the centre of the chancel of St Peter's Church and the flagstone that marks his grave bears his impressive coat of arms:


He died in 1731 at the age of 80 years.  Furthermore, a “Robert Goodrich” was a High Sheriff of Suffolk in 1727 and the Felsham gentleman may have been the same person.
(The High Sheriff is the oldest secular office under the Crown and is appointed annually (in March) by the Crown. He was originally the principal law enforcement officer in the county and presided at the Assizes and other important county meetings.)

Sir John Tilley in his “Notes for a history of Felsham” (1951) mentions that in 1718 Mr. Robert Goodrich, Senior, bestowed upon the Church a silver flagon bearing his arms; its "first appearance”, says the register was on Easter Day. It is still in use and, so the Rector tells me, is German work and very valuable."

The earliest mention of the Goodrich family in Felsham was in 1470 in the Wills of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury.  The record includes the will of "Rose Goddrych of Felsham, widow", dated 2nd August 1470.

For more general information about "hearth taxes" see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hearth_tax


Monday, 9 September 2013

The Census Returns for Felsham 1841 to 1911

Microsoft Excel allows you to crunch numbers very quickly and easily.  Using this software or other similar spread-sheet programs, the sorting and counting of large amounts of data from the Census Returns is fairly straightforward and provides us with some interesting facts. 

Filling up the census paper. Punch, 1861 Photograph: British Library Board/The British Library

Take Felsham villagers’ names for example.  Popular Christian names among boys show a remarkable consistency throughout the Victorian and Edwardian periods.  William, George and John are regular favourites followed closely by James, Robert and Thomas.  Frederick and Arthur become more common towards the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th.

Choice of Christian names for girls reveals greater variety than the boys particularly during Edwardian times. The girls’ names show less consistency over the whole period but definite favourites do emerge.  Mary Ann and Mary are the clear winners in the popularity stakes throughout the Victorian period but ‘Mary’ alone remains a clear favourite into the 20th century.   Sarah was very common in 1841 but fades away as the 19th century progresses.  Elizabeth is also very popular along with Eliza, but by the beginning of the 1900s, names such as Annie, Alice, Edith and Ellen are becoming more prevalent.

The top three surnames in Felsham during this period were BREWER, SMITH and TURNER.

There is much important work to be done in analysing local census material to highlight historical trends: changes in age structures, occupations, family size, and school attendance are but a few that come to mind.

If you would like a FREE Excel copy of the Felsham censuses contact the EDITOR
See also: http://felshamhistory.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/local-history-studies-bibliography.html

Sunday, 8 September 2013

Felsham Village Sign ~ with historical connotations

This is FHF's suggestion for a village sign with historical illustrations



This frame represents the predominance of farmhouses with moats in Felsham going back to the early 14th century.  It also indicates the importance of thatch as a roofing medium in our area.
 
This frame represents the importance of Felsham as a market centre going back to the 13th century and the more recent revival of the Felsham Street Fair with its multiplicity of stalls down The Street.
 
This frame represents the presence of an annual Fair in Felsham going back to the early 13th century and the introduction of a Lamb Fair during the Tudor period.  It also represents the continued importance of animals on the local small-holdings.
 
This frame represents the importance of farming in our village with centuries of horse-powered farm implements and waggons.  The waggon illustrated is representative of a Suffolk waggon drawn by four heavy horses.

CB

Tuesday, 2 July 2013

The G&F magazine (the Gedding and Felsham community magazine)

The latest edition of the G&F contains six articles on local history:

  • Felsham Upper Green and Bury Road - past and present
  • The Felsham Shop 1900 to 1940
  • Summer Excursion to Gedding Church 1889
  • The Felsham Lamb Fair
  • The Reading Room
  • The Chamberlains of Gedding Hall
 
 
 
On Sale in Felsham PO Stores.  Price £3